AIMIM Senior Legislator Mumtaz Ahmed Khan takes oath as pro-term speaker

 Telangana | Written by : Suryaa Desk Updated: Thu, Jan 17, 2019, 12:27 PM

Mumtaz Ahmed Khan is a Member of the Legislative Assembly elected in December 2018 from Charminar Constituency in the State of Telangana, India. Mumtaz Khan won his Sixth consecutive Legislative seat from this area of the city of Hyderabad

All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen senior legislator Mumtaz Ahmed Khan took oath as pro-tem Speaker of the Telangana State Legislative Assembly on Wednesday.

Governor E.S.L. Narasimhan administered the oath at a ceremony at the Durbar Hall of Raj Bhavan. After taking the oath, Mr. Mumtaz Khan signed the register in the presence of the Governor and other dignitaries. Mr. Narasimhan and Chief Minister K. Chandrasekhar Rao greeted Mr. Mumtaz Khan with bouquets.

The swearing-in ceremony was attended by Legislative Council Chairman K. Swamy Goud, home minister Description Mohammad Mahmood Ali, AIMIM Supremo Asaduddin Owaisi,  Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) MPs B. Vinod Kumar and J. Santosh Kumar, TRS and AIMIM legislators and Council members and top state officials.

The Second Assembly of the state is scheduled to meet for the first time on Thursday with Mr. Mumtaz Khan in the chair. He will administer the oath of office to the newly elected members and oversee the process of election of the Speaker.